Oct 20, 2011

MWC Co-Hosting 10th Annual Coal Industry Briefing

Topics to be discussed include:

  • Legislative developments and proposals affecting coal producers and consumers
  • EPA regulation of water intake and discharge
  • EPA regulation of air emissions from coal-fired power plants
  • Hot topics for state utility and environmental regulators and how they will impact the industry
Panel members and keynote speakers will include:
  • Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV)
  • James F. Wood, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Clean Coal, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
  • David Banks, Republican Deputy Staff Director, Senate Environment & Public Works
  • Bruce Braine, VP of Strategic Policy Analysis, American Electric Power
  • Mike Catanzaro, Energy Policy Advisor, Office of Speaker John Boehner (R-OH)
  • Caroline Choi, Executive Director, Environmental Services & Strategy, Progress Energy
  • Tony Clark, Commissioner, North Dakota Public Service Commission; President, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC)
  • Thomas L. Englert Ph.D., P.E., Vice President, Senior Professional Associate, HDR ONE COMPANY
  • Michael Krancer, Secretary, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
  • Jon W. McKinney, Commissioner, Public Service Commission of West Virginia; Chairman, Clean Coal Subcommittee, National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC)
  • Mary Frances Repko, Office of House Minority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD)
  • Jonathan Wood, Vice President of Government & External Affairs, Alpha Natural Resources
Space is limited. Please register by October 13. Note: this conference has been organized in accordance with the widely attended event exception to the Congressional Gift Rules.
Registration 8 a.m.
Program 8:40 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Reception 4 - 6 p.m.
The Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
400 New Jersey Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C.
$399 per attendee. Networking lunch and reception included. CLE credit pending.
For more information, contact Lindsay Sams at or 312.750.8602.