Dec 13, 2012

North Carolina's Berger & McCrory Announce Several Top Positions


Governor-Elect Pat McCrory names three to top administration posts:
Thomas Stith, Chief of Staff
Dr. Aldona Wos, Secretary of the Department of Health & Human Services
John Skvarla, Secretary of the Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Gov.-elect Pat McCrory on Thursday named his chief of staff and two cabinet secretaries as he prepares to take office next month.
Former Ambassador Aldona Wos of Greensboro will be Gov.-elect Pat McCrory's head of the N.C. Department of Health and Human Services.
President Pro Tempore Phil Berger names several chairmanships to lead the N.C. Senate next year:
Appropriations/Base Budget- Senators Harry Brown, Peter Brunstetter, Neal Hunt
Finance- Senators Bill Rabon, Bob Rucho
Program Evaluation- Senator Fletcher Hartsell
Rules- Senator Tom Apodaca
N.C. Senate Pro Tempore Phil Berger plans to reappoint Sen. Tom Apodaca as chairman of the Senate's Committee on Rules and Operations when the legislature convenes early next year, the Senate leader said in a news release Tuesday.
Senate Majority Leader Harry Brown will join the trio of top budget writers in the North Carolina Senate for the next two years once the Legislature reconvenes next month.
On the same day that it was announced that the Southport Republican will serve as a co-chairman of the powerful Senate Finance Committee, he received an award from a group representing mayors across the state for his work on transportation in the General Assembly.


Please contact the Raleigh McGuireWoods Consulting team if you have any questions or comments:
Harry Kaplan, Senior Vice-President
Jeff Barnhart, Senior Vice-President
Franklin Freeman, Senior Vice-President
John Merritt, Senior Vice-President
Johnny Tillett, Senior Vice-President
Bo Heath, Vice-President
Kerri Burke, Assistant Vice-President
Sarah Wolfe, Research Assistant
Katy Feinberg, Strategic Communications